A photo of a tool bench with a collection of tools available for use with in the University Bicycle Resource center.

University Bicycle Resource Center

University Bicycle Resource Center

UBRC Hours

Spring Semester 2024

Mondays 8 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Tuesdays Noon - 7:45 p.m.
Wednesdays 8 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Thursdays Noon - 8 p.m.
Fridays 8 a.m. - 8 p.m.
May 6 through May 30
Monday, May 6 8 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Tuesday, May 7 Noon - 7:45 p.m.
Wednesday, May 8 8 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Thursday, May 9 Closed
Friday, May 10 11 a.m. - 2 p.m.
Monday, May 13 8 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Tuesday, May 14 Closed
Wednesday, May 15 8 - 11 a.m. and 4 - 8 p.m.
Thursday, May 16 through Wednesday, May 22 Closed
Thursday, May 23 1 - 8 p.m.
Friday, May 24 1 - 8 p.m.
Monday, May 27 Closed
Tuesday, May 28 1 - 8 p.m.
Wednesday, May 29 1 - 8 p.m.
Thursday, May 30 1 - 8 p.m.
Friday, May 31 8 a.m. - 8 p.m.

The UBRC does not have staffed hours on weekends or UW legal holidays.

The University Bicycle Resource Center is open for do-it-yourself bicycle tune-ups. We provide:

  • Do-it-yourself space and free use of tools, air pump and grease, lube and other supplies as available
  • Bicycle repair manuals
  • Bicycle maps
  • Active transportation expertise of our student employees

The UBRC is staffed by Commuter Solutions student employees who work to encourage the use of active and alternative forms of transportation — especially bicycling, walking, and transit.

A black bicycle is elevated on a stand so it can be worked on. Interior of the University Bicycle Resource center is visible; a tool bench can be seen in the background.

UBRC classes

All events are free and open to the UW community. Classes are held in the University Bicycle Resource Center. Attendance is a first-come, first-served and no registration is required.

Spring 2024 class schedule

Bicycle Traffic Skills 101
Wednesday, Feb. 7 – 12 to 1 p.m.

Chain Cleaning & Maintenance
Wednesday, March 6 – 6 to 7:30 p.m.

Derailleurs & Shifting
Wednesday, April 3 – 6 to 7:30 p.m.

Hub Overhaul Demo
Wednesday, May 1 – 6 to 7:30 p.m.

How to Plan a Bicycle Commute
Wednesday, June 5 – noon to 1 p.m.

Virtual class video recordings

Classes were held online for the 2020-21 year.

Class recordings are available in a YouTube playlist, which is also embedded below:

 

Air and Repair Stations